The Toronto Sound | January 2018

rez | Album | Friday, February 2nd, 2018


It’s the 2nd of the mooooonth…

Straight flames so far from the city in 2018. Gonna be a great year! Shouts to all these artists man…

The Toronto Sound | January 2018

01. Staasia Daniels – Crew Watch
02. Keys N Krates – My Night feat. 070 Shake
03. Clairmont the Second – Old Clothes feat. Hezi
04. DJ Mel Boogie – BLAZIN’ feat. Rah Digga, Keysha Freshh, Lola Bunz & Lady J
05. Adrian Dey – Drama
06. Jordan Cassius – Dundies
07. LOU VAL – Easier Said Than Done
08. Birthday Boy & Trish – Chance to Go Far
09. 11:11 – Pretty Brown Eyes
10. Sean Leon – BY MYSELF AGAIN
11. Charlotte Day Wilson – Nothing New
12. FromLater – Lonely Arcade
13. ODIE – Little Lies


NEW ALBUM: Roy Woods – Say Less

rez | Album | Saturday, December 2nd, 2017

ScreenHunter 129

Long Play from one of OVO’s finest. “Say Less” is now the title track! Album features PND, 24Hrs, dvsn and PnB Rock). Shouts to this guy and the whole team. Congrats!


NEW ALBUM: Maurice Moore – The Amber Room

rez | Album | Sunday, November 19th, 2017

ScreenHunter 103

Debut long play from Ottawa’s finest, Maurice Moore. Congrats man! This kid stays underrated.



rez | Album | Sunday, November 12th, 2017

ScreenHunter 80

And just like that, Derek Wise & 88 Camino drop their self-titled album as 88GLAM.

Previous: NEW VIDEO: 88GLAM – 12

NEW ALBUM: Majid Jordan The Space Between

rez | Album | Friday, October 27th, 2017

ScreenHunter 54

Majid and Jordan with the long play. For your weekend listening pleasure!

The Space Between [|]


NEW ALBUM: dvsn – Morning After

rez | Album | Tuesday, October 17th, 2017

ScreenHunter 27

After dropping some goodies leading up to its release, dvsn drop their 2nd full play, Morning After. You need to copp to take it in (or stream on iTunes, Spotify, etc…). Shouts to the fam…

NEW ALBUM: Dan-e-o – Dear Hip Hop (20 Years Later)

rez | Album | Tuesday, October 10th, 2017


Dan-e-o’s legacy continues with the full length release of Dear Hip Hop: 20 Years Later. Description says it all. Copp on iTunes or stream there or on Spotify. Congrats man!

On November 5, 1996, Toronto-based label, Beat Factory released the seminal Canadian hip-hop compilation, Rap Essentials Volume One. Helping to further energize the already-established careers of such north-of-the-border lyrical heavyweights as Kardinal Offishall, Choclair, Ghetto Concept and Rascalz, the album is also credited for launching the career of Scarborough lyricist, Dan-e-o. 

With his featured single, “Dear Hip Hop”, Dan-e-o immediately cemented himself as one of Canada’s premier MCs. A quasi-love letter to the music and culture he adores, the Scam-produced single has stood the test of time and has garnered itself “classic” status in the annals of Canadian hip-hop history. 

With his fourth album, Dear Hip Hop: 20 Years Later, Dan-e-o both commemorates the two decade milestone of the release of his legendary debut and pays tribute to a long list of inspirations. “The artists I pay tribute to on this album by including them as guests helped pave the way for me to become the artist I am,” says Dan-e-o, “But they themselves have also enjoyed the last 20 years or so of invigorating hip-hop culture. So this new album is as much about celebrating Canadian hip-hop as a whole as it is about my first single. Really, I’m just a chapter in a much bigger story.” 

Among the honoured guests on the album are URBNET label mate, Moka Only, “Northern Touch” legend, Thrust and the Godfather of Canadian hip-hop himself, Maestro Fresh Wes. They all appear on the posse cut and lead single, “League Of Legends”, which is produced by Scam – reuniting Dan-e-o with the producer of “Dear Hip Hop” 20 years after its release. 

Dear Hip Hop: 20 Years Later is a unique combination of re-mastered gems recorded during the mid-90’s and brand new golden era-esque bangers, which include “Rap Essentials”, an ode to the compilation that started it all with alumni, Mathematik and Deuce Deuce of Concrete Mob and a symbolic tribute to J Dilla entitled “Spit” featuring the late legend’s brother, Illa J. 

The album is set for release on Friday, October 6, 2017 via URBNET. 

Track Listing

01. Dear Hip Hop
02. Constipated
03. Mental Mirage
04. Son Daze
05. Mic Surgery
06. Dear Hip Hop (The 2nd Letter) (feat. Choclair, Frankenstein & Grimace Love)
07. Incarceration
08. So Deep
09. Danish (feat. Nish Raawks)
10. Dear Hip Hop (Remix)
11. League Of Legends (feat. Thrust, Maestro Fresh Wes, Moka Only, Big Kish & Eternia)
12. Rap Essentials (feat. Mathematik & Deuce Deuce)
13. Spit (feat. Illa J)

The Toronto Sound | September 2017

rez | Album | Tuesday, October 3rd, 2017


It’s the 1st 2nd 3rd of the moooooooooonth…!!!

13 fire joints this month that we had to cut down from like over 30. Be sure to check daily to be kept up with everything. Shouts to all these artists mannnnn…!!!

The Toronto Sound | September 2017
01. Sean Leon – VINTAGE
02. Clairmont The Second – Wezide
03. SAFE – New Regime
05. JAHKOY – Language of Love
06. Majid Jordan – My Imagination feat. dvsn
07. Xhyi – MOOnDaLini
08. Sean Leon – BY MYSELF 9:11 PM EST
09. TRIPSIXX – Wake The Dead Up
10. PARTYNEXTDOOR – Better Man feat. Rick Ross
11. Adria Kain – Alone
12. dvsn – Mood
13. McCallaman – Beautiful Trouble feat. Roni


NEW ALBUM: Clairmont The Second – Lil Mont from The Ave

rez | Album | Friday, September 29th, 2017

ScreenHunter_278 Sep. 29 13.35

Between this and PND’s latest the city’s got you covered this weekend with new music. New album from Clairmont!!! 4 seconds longer than an EP so yes…official Long Play from the kid.

Written & Performed by Clairmont The Second

Produced by Clairmont The Second
Mixed & Mastered by Clairmont The Second

*Ma Homie Gawd also Written & Performed by Hezi


NEW MIXTAPE: 88 Days of Fortune – Cosmic Melanin

rez | Album | Monday, September 25th, 2017


Damn! 8 years of 88 Days. Congrats to the WHOLE fam!

Celebrating 8 years, Toronto based collective/label ’88 Days Of Fortune’ release ‘Cosmic Melanin’ Mixtape.

Celebrating 8 years, Toronto based collective/label 88 Days Of Fortune release
‘Cosmic Melanin’ mixtape on Friday Sept. 22nd in advance of their official Nuit Blanche event ‘Cosmic Melanin: Enter The Loop’ taking place on Saturday Sept. 30th at Nathan Phillips Square.

Twenty original songs featuring new and unreleased music from collective and community members like:

2017 Polaris Music Prize winner Lido Pimienta, Witch Prophet, SassyBlack, Latasha Alcindor, Stas THEE Boss , Indian Agent, + More!

“Celebrating 8 years of 88 Days Of Fortune is something that I’m honestly very proud of. Who would have thought that what started out as a little backyard performance party would one day flourish and be a full time platform for so many different artists, musicians and creatives inside and outside of Canada? This mixtape is just a small drop in the ever full (and overflowing) underground talent pool that 88 Days has been lucky to be a part of. We are so thankful to be entrusted to share music from collective and community members from Toronto, Brooklyn, Seattle, Detroit, Alaska, Colombia, New Jersey, Oakland + beyond!

Cosmic Melanin is magic. It’s the ability to see that we are all made of star dust.”

– Ayo Leilani, Co Founder / Director


Next Page » Powered by WordPress | Theme edited by Karla "hustleGRL" Moy | Contact us: