The Toronto Sound | August 2017

rez | Album | Friday, September 1st, 2017


It’s the first of the moooooooooonth!!!

Mannnn….this was a TOUGH month to get the playlist down to like 10-12 tracks. So much music came out this summer (as per usual) so def check out the blog for a lot more. But in the meantime…

The Toronto Sound | August 2017
03. Joël Lobban – Room 47
04. Kennedy Rd. – Day and Nite
05. DESIIRE – No Feelings feat. Jordan Jones
06. Derin Falana – Break Out
07. ShaqIsDope – Anointed Ones
08. sean leon – GOLD
09. Jimmy Prime & Pollari – Honest
11. Adria Kain – Something New
12. McCallaman – Karma


NEW ALBUM: Raz Fresco – H.U.S.T.L.E.

rez | Album | Saturday, August 26th, 2017

ScreenHunter_275 Aug. 26 14.06

See, wasn’t lying. Taking this one in this weekend for sure. Congrats to the fam!

Today, Raz Fresco releases his latest project “How U Survive Through Life Everyday” (H.U.S.T.L.E) through his own The Black Light Conglomerate label. A collection of music compiled over the last two years, H.U.S.T.L.E captures Raz as he journeys from being a teenager into adulthood and all the struggles that come along with it: from becoming a father and the head of his own household to being mired in legal problems and almost murdered in early 2017. H.U.S.T.L.E is a soundtrack for those who have to get up and go get it. Where success isn’t just a vision or desire, but the only option. It features classic Raz lyricism mixed with a broad variety of production and tempos. From the streets to the club to the weed café, the project has something for every hip-hop connoisseur regardless of their stylistic preference. H.U.S.T.L.E.” represents his evolution as an artist and a man, while serving as a glimpse of what is to come as he preps a slew of new releases.


NEW VIDEO: Merna “Broken Telephone” (Directed by Merna)

Ty Harper | Album,Audio,Music,Video | Wednesday, August 23rd, 2017

Directed by Merna.

Sans is out now!

Sans Short Film – Part one of three.

Written and Directed by Merna
Edited by Zac Facts
DOP Mike McLaughlin
Production Design Melanie Garros
Make Up Ashley Victoria
Choreography Hollywood Jade

Produced with the financial assistance of MuchFACT, a division of Bell Media Inc.

NEW ALBUM: a l l i e “Nightshade”

Ty Harper | Album,Audio | Friday, July 21st, 2017

allie - Nightshade album cover

a l l i e releases her debut full length album with production from River Tiber, 2nd Son, Harrison, Birthday Boy and more.

Singer/songwriter a l l i e is the new voice of seduction. With every word, she captures the blissful feeling of desire and tender love on her 10-track album, Nightshade, out today. This new release from a l l i e is her first full-length offering since her previous EPs, Strange Creature in 2013 and Moonlust in 2015. Nightshade‘s first single, “Bad Habits,” is an anthem for resolving conflict with one’s vices. The song’s video was premiered by Okayplayer in conjunction with their weekly First Look Friday feature—a formal introduction to rising talent. “a l l i e, is a chosen act meant to take experimental sounds to the next level,” declared Okayplayer.

The beatsmiths behind Nightshade is a range of Canadian talent. 2nd Son, The Kount, Harrison, River Tiber, Birthday Boy, Sunclef, Danny Voicu and MiddleEast brought diverse sounds that complimented a l l i e’s soothing voice and lyricism inspired by feminine divinity. On “Take Me There,” alongside Toronto stand-out Charlotte Day Wilson, a l l i e skillfully sets a mood of an unforgettable moment where making the first move is an addictive memory, worthy of rewinding. Her sensual vocal tone throughout the album is intoxicating, easily relaxing to the listener. Chord progression and plush drum programming create a comfortable backdrop. “Wildcat,” produced by 2nd Son and The Kount, manifests the synth chord blueprint. The gentle slow jam savors the feeling of being subdued. 2nd Son and The Kount also produced the stuttery-bounce of “Move Like A Mystic,” on which a l l i e shows her versatility by rapping over the beat.

In 2015, a l l i e was selected to be a part of the Red Bull Sound Select program, the curated platform for unique artists to release songs through Red Bull and perform at the company’s sponsored events. Her previous shows aligned her with international acts such as SZA, Kelela, and Tink. a l l i e was raised by her mother, and born to a Jamaican-Canadian father who nurtured her with soul, jazz and reggae music. Toronto’s West End was her home, the downtown part of the city where she was at the center of everything. Maintaining close ties to her hometown, a l l i e has become a fixture in the area’s music community witnessing its rapid growth over the years.

The Toronto Sound | May 2017

rez | Album | Thursday, June 1st, 2017


It’s the 1st of the mooooooonth…!!!

May edition of The Toronto Sound. Admittedly, this one’s a touch R&B-heavy but it is what it is. Toronto’s R&B movement right now is something kinda lovely – but what else is new. Was definitely tough to get this down to 10 tracks this month – but what else is new, lol.

Shouts to all these artists mannnn!

The Toronto Sound | May 2017
01. anders – You For You
02. Raahiem – Fast Life
03. alcordo – No Good
04. Derin Falana – Sunset Interlude
05. Tory Lanez – Out of Center feat. Dave East
06. DillanPonders – PLANET PONDERS
07. Luu Breeze – Slow Down Night
08. anders – December
09. dvsn – Think About Me
10. Lydia Beyene – My Love


The Toronto Sound | April 2017

rez | Album | Tuesday, May 2nd, 2017


It’s the 2nd of the moooooooooonth!

Sorry, yo. We’re a day late with this one. The album’s still straight heat though!!! Shouts to the city.

Ya we know. Lou Phelps is from MTL, not Toronto. But that’s what we do at…show love to HEAT from across Canada regardless.

Happy to present another dope lineup of joints from the month of April, 2017. Shouts to all these artists mannnnnn!

The Toronto Sound | April 2017
01. Jessie Reyez – Gatekeeper
02. Pyrex – ‘94
03. Blacka Da Don – What I’ve Been Through
04. Reema Major – AK47
05. Lou Phelps – What Time is It? feat. Innanet James
06. Julian Thomas – more
07. Roy Woods – Love You
08. anders – don’t call
09. Just Chase – EGO
10. K. Forest – On Deck
11. Desiire – Reckless


The Toronto Sound | March 2017

rez | Album | Saturday, April 1st, 2017


It’s the first of the mooooooooonth…!

A nice and tight 10-track playlist for the March 2017 edition of The Toronto Sound. Shouts to all these artists and of course there’s much more on the blog daily: Enjoy!

The Toronto Sound | March 2017
01. Dante Leon – Desperately
02. Matthew Progress – Le Fog
03. Derin Falana – Cruising
04. 11:11 – Wanna Do
05. Sayzee – Fire
06. Lou Phelps – My Forte
07. Terrell Morris – Free Problems
08. Kennedy Rd. – All I See
09. Lais – For Now
10. Staasia Daniels – Peanut Butter


NEW MUSIC: Haviah Mighty “Flower City” (EP)

Ty Harper | Album,Audio,Music | Friday, March 24th, 2017

New 7-track project from Haviah paying homage to B-town…


NEW MUSIC: Joel Garden “Doubt” (Beat Tape)

Ty Harper | Album,Audio,Music | Friday, March 17th, 2017

First intro to Montreal producer Joel Garden.

NEW ALBUM: The PLAYlist feat. Glenn Lewis – Chasin’ Goosebumps

rez | Album | Saturday, February 18th, 2017


DJ Jazzy Jeff, Glenn Lewis and more connect for a one-week project and make some good food in the form of the Chasin’ Goosebumps album. Nice! Really dope to hear Glenn back on a full project man. Dude’s still sounding amazing.

« Previous Page | Next Page » Powered by WordPress | Theme edited by Karla "hustleGRL" Moy | Contact us: